My Dog Ate My Kindle

No really, she did.

At least I don’t have to worry about what to write today. And I suppose I can be grateful to her for leading me back to the Talking Heads. Since the groomer calls her “psycho dog,” I’m listening to Stop Making Sense.

She did it sometime between 5 p.m. and when I went to bed last night. Kind of made going to sleep pretty tough since I was thinking about how I was going to have to spend another $200 to keep reading the books I’m in the middle of. Yes, books. Plural.

But this morning I realized that I could call Amazon and find out whether maybe there might be a way to fix the thing. She didn’t really eat it, of course, but she did chew it out of its case (which I will also have to replace). And she chewed the corner so hard that she broke the display so only the bottom half of the screen works. Grr….

A little searching on the Kindle Store site revealed a Contact Us button, which gave me an opportunity to login to my Amazon account, key in my phone number, and be connected to a support line. Where the nice woman on the other end even laughed at my gallows humor. Bless her.

She also told me Amazon has a program that will allow me to send in my damaged device and receive a refurbished one for only $70. Only. I hesitated briefly because I’ve had trouble with refurbished electronics in the past. Especially a five-disk Sony CD player that I bought at a Sony outlet and exchanged multiple times because it was skipping and otherwise messing up. I’m thinking there was a design problem.

But I went ahead and chose the replacement option since I’m not keen on the idea of buying an entirely new Kindle and I’m not even sure I really like the device anyway. Truthfully, I’m looking forward to buying a third-generation iPad when they come out in the fall.

Anyway, I decided to go for Free Super-Saver Shipping instead of next-day, so the “new” device should arrive in time to commemorate Dad’s birthday next week. No rose gloves for me this spring.

Burnin’ Down the House!

This entry was posted in pets and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment